Comparison · October 2026
Best Portable Thermal Printers of 2026: 8 Models Compared
8 inkless printers, from a 2-inch label maker to Letter models
- 16models shortlisted
- 8models compared
- 4weighted criteria
This comparison ranks 8 portable thermal printers from the Amazon range using manufacturer data: print quality and paper support, features and connectivity, build and warranty, and portability. The comparison winner is the Phomemo M832D with 8.6 out of 10, because it pairs 300 dpi with Letter, A4 and three roll widths, a touchscreen that shows battery and connection status, and a 2600 mAh battery in a body listed at 1.3 lb (600 g). TATTMUSE takes the best-value award and the Phomemo M836 the budget pick. The comparison helps you choose a printer for Letter-size pages or small labels without ink, whether you travel, work in the field, study or run a small office, or only need a pocket label maker.
Key takeaways
- Only two models list a consistent 300 dpi; three list 203 dpi, two give both values and the ETIKEZ travel version lists none.
- Three models take Letter, A4 and 53–110 mm rolls; four are Letter-only, and the M110 prints labels up to 2 inches wide.
- Listed speeds run from 4 to 72 pages per minute on similar thermal hardware, so we gave speed little weight in the scores.
Comparison table: portable thermal printers
Sorted by comparison score · Weighting: Print quality & paper support 35%, Features & connectivity 25%, Build & warranty 20%, Portability & handling 20% 8 models compared · selection from the Amazon range · not a complete market overview How the ranking works
Our picks at a glance
-
Comparison winner: 300 dpi, Letter, A4 and roll paper, a status touchscreen and a 2600 mAh battery at 1.3 lb (600 g).
-
Best value: Letter, A4 and 53–110 mm rolls, built-in bin, Bluetooth plus USB-C in a lower-middle price class.
-
Budget pick: 300 dpi, a listed 10 ppm and three paper types in the entry class, but the box holds only the printer.
| Model | Rank 1 Phomemo M832D Touchscreen Portable Thermal Printer | Rank 2 TATTMUSE A285M Portable Bluetooth Thermal Printer | Rank 3 Phomemo M836 Portable Thermal Printer | Rank 4 Gloryang PD-A4 Inkless Portable Printer | Rank 5 Phomemo M08F Plus Portable Thermal Printer with Case | Rank 6 Phomemo M110 Bluetooth Label Maker | Rank 7 ETIKEZ D90E Portable Thermal Printer (Travel) | Rank 8 ETIKEZ D90E Portable Thermal Printer with Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Comparison score | 8.6/10ExcellentComparison winnerComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026 | 7.9/10Very goodBest valueComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026 | 7.7/10Very goodBudget pickComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026 | 7.3/10Very goodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026 | 7.2/10Very goodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026 | 7.1/10Very goodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026 | 6.9/10GoodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026 | 6.4/10GoodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026 |
| Where to buy | ||||||||
| Print resolutionas listed | 300 dpi (best in row) | 300 dpi (203 dpi also listed) (best in row) | 300 dpi (best in row) | 300 dpi (203 dpi also listed) (best in row) | 203 dpi | 203 dpi | n/a | 203 dpi |
| Paper & media | Letter, A4; rolls 2.1/3.1/4.3 in (53/80/110 mm) | Letter, A4; rolls 2.1/3.1/4.3 in (53/80/110 mm) | Letter, A4; rolls 2.1/3.1/4.3 in; folded paper | Letter (8.5 × 11 in), own paper only | Letter (8.5 × 11 in) | Labels 0.78–2 in (20–50 mm) wide | Letter (8.5 × 11 in) | Letter (8.5 × 11 in) |
| Listed speedpages per minute (ppm), unverified | 6 ppm | 7 ppm | 10 ppm | 35 ppm | 4.25 ppm | 30 ppm (label printer) | 72 ppm | 4 ppm |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth, USB-C | Bluetooth, USB-C | Bluetooth (USB interface listed) | Bluetooth; driver for computers | Bluetooth, USB | Bluetooth, USB-C | Bluetooth; USB to PC | Bluetooth, USB |
| Batteryas listed | 2600 mAh | 11.1 Wh | n/a | n/a | n/a | 1500 mAh | n/a | n/a |
| Weight | 1.3 lb (600 g) | 1.5 lb (680 g) | 1.65 lb (750 g) | 1.75 or 3.1 lb (listing conflicts) | 1.6 lb (715 g) | 7.9 oz (222.8 g) | 1.09 lb (494 g) | 2.08 lb (943 g) |
| Display & app | Touchscreen + app | App | Not stated | App (Jadens Printer) | App (Phomemo), required | App (Print Master) | Labelnize (per listing) | n/a |
| In the box | 1 Letter roll, USB-C cable, adapter | 1 Letter roll, USB-C cable, adapter | Printer only | 3 Letter rolls, carry case, USB cable | 10 sheets, hard case, USB-C cable | 40 × 30 mm label roll, USB-C cable | 10 sheets, adapter, USB flash drive | 10 sheets, carry case, adapter |
| Warrantymanufacturer statement | 1 year | 1 year | Limited (term not stated) | 1 year | 1 year | Limited (term not stated) | Listed as “2” (no unit) | Not stated |
| Price class | Price level 4 of 4 | Price level 2 of 4 | Price level 1 of 4 | Price level 4 of 4 | Price level 4 of 4 | Price level 1 of 4 | Price level 2 of 4 | Price level 3 of 4 |
| Pros |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| More on the product | Details – Phomemo M832D Touchscreen Portable Thermal Printer | Details – TATTMUSE A285M Portable Bluetooth Thermal Printer | Details – Phomemo M836 Portable Thermal Printer | Details – Gloryang PD-A4 Inkless Portable Printer | Details – Phomemo M08F Plus Portable Thermal Printer with Case | Details – Phomemo M110 Bluetooth Label Maker | Details – ETIKEZ D90E Portable Thermal Printer (Travel) | Details – ETIKEZ D90E Portable Thermal Printer with Case |
best figure in the row
All portable thermal printers in detail
Sorted by comparison score · Weighting: Print quality & paper support 35%, Features & connectivity 25%, Build & warranty 20%, Portability & handling 20% 8 models compared · selection from the Amazon range · not a complete market overview How the ranking works
- Comparison winnerComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on test
Rank 1: Phomemo M832D Touchscreen Portable Thermal Printer
Brand: Phomemo Price level Price level 4 of 4
8.6/10ExcellentComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026Comparison winner: 300 dpi, Letter, A4 and roll paper, a status touchscreen and a 2600 mAh battery at 1.3 lb (600 g).
Ideal for
Frequent travelers and field staff who print documents on the move
The Phomemo M832D leads the comparison because its data is strong on every criterion. It lists 300 dpi, takes Letter and A4 sheets as well as 2.08-, 3.15- and 4.33-inch (53, 80 and 110 mm) rolls, and has a built-in paper bin. A touchscreen shows battery and connection status, and Phomemo says the printer recognizes how the paper is positioned. Power comes from a 2600 mAh battery in a body listed at 1.3 lb (600 g), though the bullet text rounds that to 1.5 lb. Connections are Bluetooth and USB-C. The drawbacks are the top price class, a one-year warranty, no case in the box and a listed 6 pages per minute that trails the M836 and TATTMUSE. The spec sheet also names scanning as a function, which the feature bullets do not describe.
Pros
- 300 dpi with Letter, A4 and three roll widths
- Touchscreen shows battery and connection status
- 2600 mAh battery in a body listed at 1.3 lb (600 g)
- Built-in paper bin; Bluetooth and USB-C
Cons
- Top price class in the set
- One-year warranty; no carry case in the box
- Listed 6 ppm trails the M836 and TATTMUSE
Key specs
- Print resolution
- 300 dpi
- Paper & media
- Letter, A4; rolls 2.1/3.1/4.3 in (53/80/110 mm)
- Weight
- 1.3 lb (600 g)
- Best valueComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on test
Rank 2: TATTMUSE A285M Portable Bluetooth Thermal Printer
Brand: TATTMUSE Price level Price level 2 of 4
7.9/10Very goodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026Best value: Letter, A4 and 53–110 mm rolls, built-in bin, Bluetooth plus USB-C in a lower-middle price class.
Ideal for
Mobile workers who print invoices, receipts and forms from phone or laptop
The TATTMUSE A285M earns the best-value award by offering the winner’s paper range in a lower-middle price class. It accepts Letter and A4 sheets plus 53, 80 and 110 mm rolls, and it handles roll, continuous and single-sheet thermal paper from a built-in bin. Bluetooth covers iPhone, iPad, Android phones and tablets, while a USB-C cable connects a laptop. The listing gives an 11.1 Wh battery, 1.5 lb (680 g) and 10.39 × 3.07 × 1.77 inches, and the box adds a Letter roll, a USB-C cable and an adapter. Its resolution fields conflict, with 300 dpi in one and 203 dpi in two others. There is no carry case, the warranty is one year, and no housing material is stated, so durability stays unverified.
Pros
- Letter, A4 and 53–110 mm rolls from a built-in bin
- Bluetooth for phones and tablets, USB-C for laptops
- 11.1 Wh battery in a 1.5 lb (680 g) body
- Lower-middle price class
Cons
- Resolution listed as both 300 and 203 dpi
- No carry case; one-year warranty
- Housing material not stated
Key specs
- Print resolution
- 300 dpi (203 dpi also listed)
- Paper & media
- Letter, A4; rolls 2.1/3.1/4.3 in (53/80/110 mm)
- Weight
- 1.5 lb (680 g)
- Budget pickComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on test
Rank 3: Phomemo M836 Portable Thermal Printer
Brand: Phomemo Price level Price level 1 of 4
7.7/10Very goodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026Budget pick: 300 dpi, a listed 10 ppm and three paper types in the entry class, but the box holds only the printer.
Ideal for
Budget-minded users who will buy their own thermal paper
The Phomemo M836 is the budget pick and the only entry-class printer in the set that lists 300 dpi. It takes Letter and A4 sheets as well as 2-, 3- and 4-inch rolls (53, 80 and 110 mm), and Phomemo says it works with standard thermal sheets, roll paper and folded thermal paper. The listing gives 10 pages per minute, the top of the 4 to 10 range that most document models state, and about 1.65 lb (750 g) for a body of 11.57 × 3.07 inches. It works with phones, iPads and PCs. The trade-offs are a box list that names only the printer, a warranty described as limited without a term, no battery or display data, and a USB interface that appears in the spec sheet without a cable in the box.
Pros
- Lists 300 dpi in the entry price class
- Letter, A4 and 53–110 mm rolls; three paper types
- Listed 10 ppm, top of the 4–10 ppm range
- About 1.65 lb (750 g)
Cons
- Box list names only the printer
- Warranty described as limited, no term
- No battery capacity or display listed
Key specs
- Print resolution
- 300 dpi
- Paper & media
- Letter, A4; rolls 2.1/3.1/4.3 in; folded paper
- Weight
- 1.65 lb (750 g)
Rank 4: Gloryang PD-A4 Inkless Portable Printer
Brand: Gloryang Price level Price level 3 of 4
7.3/10Very goodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026Letter printer with case and three paper rolls in the box, but own-brand paper only and conflicting weight data.
Ideal for
Travelers who want a ready-to-go kit with case and spare rolls
The Gloryang PD-A4 is the most complete kit in the set. The box holds three Letter-size thermal rolls (one already loaded), a portable carry case, a USB charging cable, a manual and a guide card, and a built-in bin keeps printed pages tidy. Phones connect over Bluetooth through the Jadens Printer app, and computers need a driver installed with the printer switched on. The spec sheet lists 300 dpi, though another field says 203 dpi, plus a one-year warranty. Against that, the listing says the printer works only with Gloryang’s own thermal paper, prints Letter size only, and gives its weight as 3.1 lb in the spec sheet but 1.75 lb in the feature text. It also lists 35 pages per minute, far above the 4 to 10 range of most peers, and sits in the top price class.
Pros
- Three Letter rolls, carry case and cable in the box
- Built-in paper bin; 300 dpi listed
- Bluetooth app for phones, driver for computers
- One-year warranty
Cons
- Works only with Gloryang’s own thermal paper
- Weight listed as both 3.1 lb and 1.75 lb
- Top price class; Letter size only
Key specs
- Print resolution
- 300 dpi (203 dpi also listed)
- Paper & media
- Letter (8.5 × 11 in), own paper only
- Weight
- 1.75 or 3.1 lb (listing conflicts)
Rank 5: Phomemo M08F Plus Portable Thermal Printer with Case
Brand: Phomemo Price level Price level 4 of 4
7.2/10Very goodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026Letter printer with hard case and cable, 1.6 lb and a one-year warranty; resolution stops at 203 dpi.
Ideal for
Users who want a protective hard case and print from a phone app
The Phomemo M08F Plus is a Letter-only printer built around protection and phone printing. A hard case, 10 Letter sheets, instructions and an 80 cm (31.5-inch) USB-A to USB-C charging cable are in the box, and Phomemo gives a one-year manufacturer warranty. The printer weighs 1.6 lb (715 g) but is long at 13.7 inches. Printing runs through the Phomemo app on iOS and Android, which handles PDF, Word, image and web content; the listing warns that devices cannot pair with the printer over Bluetooth directly, so the app is mandatory. USB is listed too. The data is weaker on output: 203 dpi and 4.25 pages per minute sit near the bottom of the document-printer range, and the printer is in the top price class.
Pros
- Hard case, 10 sheets and cable in the box
- One-year manufacturer warranty
- App prints PDF, Word, images and web pages
- Bluetooth and USB; 1.6 lb (715 g)
Cons
- Only 203 dpi and 4.25 ppm listed
- Letter size only; 13.7 in long
- Top price class; Bluetooth works only via the app
Key specs
- Print resolution
- 203 dpi
- Paper & media
- Letter (8.5 × 11 in)
- Weight
- 1.6 lb (715 g)
Rank 6: Phomemo M110 Bluetooth Label Maker
Brand: Phomemo Price level Price level 1 of 4
7.1/10Very goodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026Pocket label maker at 7.9 oz with templates, Excel batch printing and OCR; it cannot print documents.
Ideal for
Home, office and school users who label cables, folders and clothing
The Phomemo M110 is a different tool from the other seven: a 2-inch label printer rather than a page printer, which holds its performance score back in a set judged largely on document printing. It prints labels 0.78 to 2 inches (20 to 50 mm) wide on thermal label rolls at 203 dpi. In return it is the most portable model here at 7.9 oz (222.8 g) and 4.48 × 2.44 × 3.43 inches, charges over USB-C, and lists a 1500 mAh battery. The Print Master app offers label templates, custom layouts, batch printing from Excel files and OCR. The box holds the printer, a pre-installed 40 × 30 mm label roll and a USB-C cable. The listing excludes shipping labels and color, and the warranty is limited with no stated term.
Pros
- 7.9 oz (222.8 g) and pocket-sized
- Templates, Excel batch printing and OCR in the app
- Bluetooth and USB-C; 1500 mAh battery
Cons
- Labels only; no document printing
- Label width capped at 2 in; not for shipping labels
- Warranty term not stated
Key specs
- Print resolution
- 203 dpi
- Paper & media
- Labels 0.78–2 in (20–50 mm) wide
- Weight
- 7.9 oz (222.8 g)
Rank 7: ETIKEZ D90E Portable Thermal Printer (Travel)
Brand: ETIKEZ Price level Price level 3 of 4
6.9/10GoodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026Lightest Letter printer at 1.09 lb with a flash drive in the box, but no resolution and thin, conflicting entries.
Ideal for
Light packers who print occasional black-and-white Letter pages
The ETIKEZ D90E travel version is the lightest Letter printer in the comparison at 1.09 lb (494 g), and the listing pitches it for backpacks, briefcases, contracts and office documents. It connects to iPhones and Android phones over Bluetooth and to PCs over USB, and the box adds a USB flash drive, a USB to Type-C adapter, a manual and 10 sheets of US Letter thermal paper. The weak point is the data. No resolution is stated, the 72 pages per minute listed for a pocket thermal printer looks out of line with the 4 to 10 of most peers, and the warranty field reads only “2”, without a unit. Its dimensions also differ from the other D90E listing, so check the product page before relying on the numbers. It prints black and white only and has no case.
Pros
- Lightest Letter model: 1.09 lb (494 g)
- Bluetooth for phones, USB for PCs
- Flash drive, adapter and 10 sheets in the box
Cons
- No print resolution stated
- Warranty listed only as “2”, no unit
- Speed and size entries conflict with the sibling listing
Key specs
- Print resolution
- n/a
- Paper & media
- Letter (8.5 × 11 in)
- Weight
- 1.09 lb (494 g)
Rank 8: ETIKEZ D90E Portable Thermal Printer with Case
Brand: ETIKEZ Price level Price level 4 of 4
6.4/10GoodComparison score · data-based comparison, no hands-on testAs of 10/2026Letter printer with carry case and 10 sheets, but 203 dpi, 4 ppm, 2.08 lb and no warranty information.
Ideal for
Occasional users who want a case and can live with 203 dpi
The ETIKEZ D90E with case ranks last, mostly because its data trails the field. It lists 203 dpi and 4 pages per minute, the lowest speed of any document printer here, and weighs 2.08 lb (943 g), almost twice the travel listing of the same model name. The slim body measures 10.43 × 2.32 × 1.3 inches. On the plus side, the box holds a portable carry case, 10 sheets of US Letter thermal paper, a USB to Type-C adapter and a manual, and both Bluetooth and USB are listed. The listing says it prints black and white only. No warranty information appears in the data, and it supports Letter size only. It sits in a higher price class than the TATTMUSE, which lists 300 dpi and A4 support.
Pros
- Carry case and 10 Letter sheets in the box
- Bluetooth and USB connections
- Slim 2.32 in width
Cons
- Only 203 dpi and 4 ppm listed
- No warranty information
- Letter size only; 2.08 lb (943 g)
Key specs
- Print resolution
- 203 dpi
- Paper & media
- Letter (8.5 × 11 in)
- Weight
- 2.08 lb (943 g)
How the ranking works
Sorted by our comparison score, which combines these weighted criteria:
- Print quality & paper support 35% Resolution, supported paper sizes and media, and any listed speed show how well a model does its main job.
- Features & connectivity 25% Apps, display, connection options, device support and box contents decide how many jobs one printer can handle.
- Build & warranty 20% Warranty terms, cases, battery data and stated materials show what the maker commits to and how well it should travel.
- Portability & handling 20% Weight, size, built-in paper storage and setup effort decide whether a printer really goes into a bag.
8 models compared · selection from the Amazon range · not a complete market overview
16 models shortlisted · 8 compared · 4 criteria
We did not physically test these products ourselves. Our assessment is based on technical specifications, features, price class, and manufacturer and service information. More about our method
Buying guide: what to look for in portable thermal printers
What to look for in a portable thermal printer
A portable thermal printer prints by heating specially coated paper, so there is no ink, toner or ribbon to run dry or clog. The trade-off is that the paper itself is the consumable and the output is monochrome. All eight models here print in black only; seven are Letter-size document printers and the Phomemo M110 is a 2-inch label maker. The sections below show which values are typical in this product set. Every figure is a manufacturer statement from the product data, and where a listing contradicts itself we say so. Whether a printer belongs on your desk at all is one step in our checklist for upgrading your desk.
Document printer or label maker?
Decide this first, because the two groups do not overlap. The seven page printers take Letter paper (8.5 × 11 inches) and suit contracts, invoices, boarding passes and school or office documents. The Phomemo M110 prints labels from 0.78 to 2 inches (20 to 50 mm) wide for cables, folders, clothing and addresses, and its listing rules out shipping labels. It is a strong label tool but cannot print a document at all. If you need both pages and labels, plan for two devices.
Resolution: 203 or 300 dpi
Print resolution is the clearest quality number in the data. The Phomemo M832D and M836 list 300 dpi consistently. The TATTMUSE A285M and Gloryang PD-A4 give 300 dpi in one field and 203 dpi in another, so their true figure is unclear. The Phomemo M08F, the M110 and the ETIKEZ D90E with case list 203 dpi, and the ETIKEZ travel version lists nothing. More dots per inch generally means finer small type and thinner lines, which matters for dense tables or small print on contracts. For large headings, short notes and labels, the difference narrows.
Paper size and paper type
Paper support splits the field. The Phomemo M832D, TATTMUSE A285M and Phomemo M836 list US Letter and A4 sheets as well as rolls 2.1, 3.1 and 4.3 inches (53, 80 and 110 mm) wide; the M836 adds folded thermal paper, and TATTMUSE lists continuous and single-sheet paper. The Gloryang PD-A4, Phomemo M08F and both ETIKEZ D90E listings stop at Letter. The spec sheets name thermal paper or thermal labels as the only print media, and the Gloryang listing goes further: it works only with Gloryang’s own rolls. Because paper is the ongoing running cost, check how easy it is to find the right size before you commit to a model.
Connectivity and apps
All eight list Bluetooth, and six name a USB connection as well: the M832D, TATTMUSE, M08F, M110 and both ETIKEZ listings. The M836 shows a USB interface in its spec sheet but only Bluetooth as its connection type. The Gloryang PD-A4 uses Bluetooth for phones and a driver for computers. Where the listings name an app, printing runs through it: Phomemo’s app for the M08F (the listing says devices cannot pair with the printer directly over Bluetooth), Jadens Printer for the Gloryang, Print Master for the M110 and Labelnize for the ETIKEZ travel version. Check app support for your phone: the ETIKEZ travel spec says iOS while its description also names Android.
Battery, weight and size
Weights range from 7.9 oz (222.8 g) for the M110 to 2.08 lb (943 g) for the ETIKEZ D90E with case. Among Letter printers, the ETIKEZ travel version is lightest at 1.09 lb (494 g), followed by the M832D at 1.3 lb (600 g), TATTMUSE at 1.5 lb (680 g), the M08F at 1.6 lb (715 g) and the M836 at 1.65 lb (750 g). The Gloryang listing gives 3.1 lb in one place and 1.75 lb in another. Where dimensions are consistent, the longest side runs from about 10.4 inches (TATTMUSE and ETIKEZ with case) to 13.7 inches (M08F), so measure your bag. Only three spec sheets state a battery capacity: 2600 mAh for the M832D, 1500 mAh for the M110 and 11.1 Wh for TATTMUSE. Milliamp-hours and watt-hours cannot be compared without the voltage, so those figures say little about endurance.
Warranty and what is in the box
Four listings state one year of warranty: M832D, TATTMUSE, Gloryang and M08F. The M836 and M110 call theirs limited without a term, the ETIKEZ travel listing shows only “2”, and the ETIKEZ listing with case gives nothing. The box matters as much as the printer. The M836 lists only the printer, so paper is a separate purchase. Gloryang ships three Letter rolls, the M08F and both ETIKEZ models ship 10 sheets, and the M832D and TATTMUSE each include one roll already inside. Carry cases come with the Gloryang, the M08F and the ETIKEZ with case.
Which printer fits which job?
- Frequent travel with mixed paper: the Phomemo M832D, for 300 dpi, A4 and roll support and a status display.
- Everyday value: the TATTMUSE A285M, for the same paper range in a lower price class.
- Lowest price class with 300 dpi: the Phomemo M836, if you will buy paper and anything else the box lacks.
- Ready-made kit: the Gloryang PD-A4, with case and three rolls, if you accept its own-brand paper.
- Protection and phone printing: the Phomemo M08F with its hard case.
- Labels, not pages: the Phomemo M110.
- Lightest Letter model: the ETIKEZ D90E travel version, if its thin data is acceptable.
Common mistakes when buying
Trusting speed figures. Listed speeds run from 4 pages per minute (ppm) on the ETIKEZ with case to 72 ppm on the ETIKEZ travel version, and the Gloryang lists 35, while the other document models cluster between 4 and 10. A listing that claims several times the speed of comparable hardware is a red flag, so we gave speed little weight in the scores.
Going by the model name alone. Both ETIKEZ products are called D90E, yet their weight, speed, size and box contents differ between listings. Compare the contents list, not just the name.
Believing “multifunction” labels. The spec sheets of the TATTMUSE and the Phomemo M832D carry multifunction or scan tags, but only the M832D names scanning among its functions, and neither set of feature bullets describes it. Treat all eight as print devices unless the product page shows otherwise.
Expecting color or shipping labels. All eight are monochrome, and the M110 explicitly excludes shipping labels.
Care and use tips
Charge the printer fully before first use; the M110 listing asks for exactly that. Load only the paper the maker names. Thermal prints are sensitive to heat and light, so keep pages you need away from sunlight and warm surfaces, and scan or photograph the important ones. Store spare rolls in a dry bag next to the printer and follow the manual for the paper path. On a desk, a riser with a drawer keeps the printer and spare rolls off the work surface, and several of the monitor stands with storage we compare have one. You will find more desk and office gear for the same desk or bag in the Computer & Office category, including monitor light bars for the desk.
How we compared
We ranked all eight models on four weighted criteria: print quality and paper support (35%), features and connectivity (25%), build and warranty (20%), and portability and handling (20%). The scores come from manufacturer data and listing details, not from physical use, and the full scoring method explains them in detail.
Frequently asked questions
Do portable thermal printers need ink or toner?
No. The eight printers in this comparison use heat-sensitive paper, so there is no ink, toner or ribbon to buy or to clog. What you do need is the right thermal paper or labels. The listings of the Gloryang PD-A4, Phomemo M08F and Phomemo M836 say only thermal paper is supported, and the Gloryang works only with Gloryang’s own rolls. Check that you can get the right paper for your model before you order.
Which models can print on A4 as well as US Letter?
Three: the Phomemo M832D, the TATTMUSE A285M and the Phomemo M836 list both US Letter and A4 sheets, plus rolls 2.1, 3.1 and 4.3 inches (53, 80 and 110 mm) wide. The Gloryang PD-A4, the Phomemo M08F and both ETIKEZ D90E listings are Letter-only, and the Phomemo M110 prints labels up to 2 inches wide, not pages. If you regularly print A4 documents, start with those first three.
Is 300 dpi really better than 203 dpi?
A higher dpi figure means more dots per inch, which generally gives sharper small text and thinner lines. In this set, only the Phomemo M832D and M836 list 300 dpi consistently; the TATTMUSE and Gloryang list both 300 and 203, and three models list 203. For short notes, labels and large headings the gap is smaller. We compare specifications and have not checked print samples ourselves.
Can the Phomemo M110 print shipping labels or documents?
No to both. The M110 is a label maker: its listing gives a label width range of 0.78 to 2 inches (20 to 50 mm) and a maximum media size of 50 × 30 mm, and states that it is not for shipping labels and does not print in color. It suits cable, folder, address and school labels, and its app offers templates, Excel batch printing and OCR. For letter-size pages, choose one of the other seven.
Do I need a phone app to print?
For phone printing, the listings point to vendor apps: Phomemo’s app for the M08F (which says devices cannot connect directly over Bluetooth), Jadens Printer for the Gloryang, Print Master for the M110 and Labelnize for the ETIKEZ travel version. Computers use USB or a driver; the Gloryang needs a driver installed, and six models name a USB connection. Confirm app and operating-system support on the product page before buying.
Where do the scores come from?
From manufacturer data: specifications, feature lists, box contents and warranty statements in the product listings. We do not run lab tests and have not printed with these models, so the scores compare what the makers say, not measured output. Where a listing contradicts itself, such as the Gloryang’s two weights or the ETIKEZ speed entries, we flag it and score cautiously. Awards follow the scores exactly: one winner, plus value and budget picks.
More comparisons



Best Monitor Stands and Risers of 2026: 8 Models Compared
8 products · As of October 30, 2026










